Iron – Get it into you.

I’ve had an issue or two with Iron. I’m not going to give you some facts or statistics because I would probably get them wrong. All I know is that it’s good to have a bit of Iron in the body. If you have that then your grand.

My biggest drop in Iron was when I was training for my first marathon. I was losing iron daily for a long period of time  and I didn’t even realise. Here’s a few reasons why:

  • Pounding the pavements and trails damaged red blood cells in the feet.
  • Loss of Iron in sweat.
  • Not eating red meat or meat in general.
  • Being a woman.

It wasn’t until I became very ill that I reaised my iron levels were very low. I was tired all of the time. Felt nauseaus and couldn’t eat. Was very dizzy and weak.

Trying to be healthy could be the death of me.  Lesson Learned. It took weeks to feel a little more normal and a few months to be right again.I didn’t do a great job of the marathon but I finished.

I couldn’t figure out why I felt so wonderful after a big beef burger and a couple of pints of the black stuff. (Guiness) I now take supplements as I still don’t eat a lot of meat. Meat is one of the best ways to get iron into you but here’s some more great tips for non meat eaters:

Iron

This is a link to some facts and figures.

http://breakingmuscle.com/nutrition/what-athletes-need-to-know-about-iron-deficiency

Leave a Reply

