My Big Fat Excuse

I have an excuse for everything, mostly fitness related excuses.
I’m sure I’m not alone in this but sometimes I feel like I’m the worst.
I constantly see updates of how successful people are, what they’ve accomplished and just how wonderful they’re life is.
Of course – Who’s going to boast about they’re failures? What would that look like? Instead of a picture from the top of a mountain over-looking an amazing view you’ve got a picture of a frustrated and  depressed red face captioned ‘I didn’t make it’.
How many of these have you seen?

I have my great weeks and not so great weeks. To try and avoid the not so great weeks turning into months I’ve got these secret motivators. They’re so secret they don’t even know they exist.

I am very competitive, I don’t always have to win but I have to give it my all or else what am I doing with my life. I had a race to crack eggs the quickest the other day, I think the other person thought I was      joking. I won. Jokes on her – loser. 

Don't look backSo my secret motivators, these are usually people with similar interests/goals to me. If I hear they’ve just gone for a run I’ll get up off my butt and do something. When I’m not feeling so motivated I’ll give them a text and see how they’re doing. If they’ve fallen off the wagon – they’re dumped – temporarily and I find a new motivator. I don’t need to beat them but just the thought of them being out there sweating their fear away while I’m sitting on the forbidden couch feeling . . .  tired = excuse, it gets me going.

Turns out I was a secret motivator the other day. A friend said I had inspired her to get out and run in the snow. Little did she know that I hadn’t ran in a week. I felt so guilty, like I was living a lie. And the circle began again. I got my shoes on and got out there.

we_are_what_we-115964I find it’s all about good habits. Once I get into a routine I’m laughing. Excuses are like my kryptonite. It’s hard to figure out what is a genuine feeling and what’s just and excuse. I’ve become so good at creating excuses that I convince myself that they are true. I think I have a negative alien living in my brain, it says: “check yourself”, “ooh that’s too tough”, “ah your tired now have a little sit down and eat a mountain of chocolate.” Unfortunately  I usually listen to it.

Stepping out of my comfort zone is . . . well . . . uncomfortable. It’s a constant mental game I will continue to play. I know I will never beat it but I will come close.

I need to get rid of the excuses – they’re wasting my time.

This gets me going:

Leave a Reply

