Say Hello to my Green Friend

Green smoothieOver a year ago I got a gift of a juicer – my first thought was why on earth  did I get one of these, I wanted a blender.  (sorry gift giver) My tune changed pretty quick. I’ve used that juicer at least 4 times a week since. Can’t imagine my life without it now.

Greens

Rarely I will make a really yummy juice with watermelon, blood orange etc etc. Mostly I take all of the veggies from my fridge that I think are pretty healthy and green and I whack them in. I have juice books that have some great tasty recipes but I’m too lazy for that and I want to maximize all that green goodness.

Green juiceI love the summer and the amount of great veggies it has to offer. Pity winter lasts so long where I live.  I juice kale, chard, lettuce, spinach, water cress (ugh extra gross) cilantro, parsley, peppers, carrots, apple, ginger, lime I could keep going. I don’t mix all of these together but whatever’s going. You can even use the stalks, like the stalks from broccoli. I’m at the stage where I think this blend tastes good. Others disagree. Maybe I’ve killed my taste buds. Either way I feel unreal after drinking it. I get such a kick from it, not as strong as a shot of coffee might give but close enough. 

When I need something a little more filling I’ll make a green smoothie. I usually use coconut water as a base, lettuce/spinach, broccoli, lime again whatever surprise jumps out at me from the fridge. Depending on what I put in, the texture from the smoothie is usually thick and sometimes chewy. I’ve stopped putting kale in there as that just has a nasty texture. I was so good having one of these for breakfast everyday, this was short lived (for like two days haha) as I just started downing them in order to get them in me. Maybe I need to work on the recipe but for now I feel amazing after drinking them so they’re staying. Maybe just not for breakfast. When I’m on a green buzz I have so much more energy and my skin looks clear and fresh .

I would add a recipe but I think this is one  you need to figure out what you like and what makes you gag.
Or just google it.

Leave a Reply

